10 Creepy Nursery Rhymes

1.

Now I Lay Me Down to Sleep

Now I lay me down to sleep,
I pray the Lord my soul to keep,
If I shall die before I wake,
I pray the Lord my soul to take. Amen.

 

2.Oranges and lemons
Say the bells of St Clemens,
You owe me five farthings
Say the bells of St Martins,
When will you pay me?
Say the bells of Old Bailey,
When I grow rich
Say the bells of Shoreditch,
When will that be?
Say the bells of Stepney,
I do not know
Says the great bell of Bow,

Here comes a candle to light you to bed
And here comes a chopper
To chop off your head!
Chip, chop, chip, chop
The last one is dead!

3. The Hearse Song

Don’t you ever laugh as the hearse goes by,
For you may be the next one to die.
They wrap you up in a big white sheet
From your head down to your feet.
They put you in a big black box
And cover you up with dirt and rocks.
All goes well for about a week,
Then your coffin begins to leak.
The worms crawl in, the worms crawl out,
The worms play pinochle in your snout,
They eat your eyes, they eat your nose,
They eat the jelly between your toes.
A big green worm with rolling eyes
Crawls in your stomach and out your eyes.
Your stomach turns a slimy green,
And pus pours out like whipping cream.
You’ll spread it on a slice of bread,
And this is what you eat when you are dead.

4. From James Halliwell Phillips Nursery Rhymes, 1842 
There was an old woman,
Her name it was Peg;
Her head was of wood and
She wore a cork leg.
The neighbours all pitch’d
Her into the water,
Her leg was drowned first,
And her head followed after.

5. Originally from Gammer Gurton’s Garland, 1784

THERE was a lady all skin and bone;
Sure such a lady was never known :
It happen’d upon a certain day,
This lady went to church to pray.

When she came to the church stile,
There she did rest a little while ;
When she came to the churchyard,
There the bells so loud she heard.

When she came to the church door,
She stopt to rest a little more ;
When she came the church within,
The parson pray’d ‘gainst pride and sin.

On looking up, on looking down,
She saw a dead man on the ground ;
And from his nose unto his chin,
The worms crawl’d out, the worms crawl’d in.

Then she unto the parson said,
Shall I be so when I am dead :
O yes ! O yes, the parson said,
You will be so when you are dead.

Here the lady screams.*

*The person reciting the rhyme is meant to scream bloody murder at the end of the verse.

6. From an early Mother Goose’s Almanack

Here come I,
Little David Doubt;
If you don’t give me money,
I’ll sweep you all out.

Money I want,
And money I crave;
If you don’t give me money,
I’ll sweep you all to the grave!

7.From Tom Tit’s Song Book, 1790

I married a wife on Sunday,
She began to scold on Monday,
Bad was she on Tuesday,
Middling was she on Wednesday,
Worse she was on Thursday,
Dead was she on Friday,
Glad was I on Saturday night,
To bury my wife on Sunday.

8. Baden lullaby [second stanza]

Sleep my child, sleep quietly,
out there the Prussian walks by,
the Prussian has a bloody hand,
that he holds over the Baden land,
And we all have to be quiet,
like your father under the sod,
Sleep my child, sleep quietly,
Out there the Prussian walks by

9. Ring a Ring o’ Roses

ring around the rosies
pockets full of posies
ashes ashes
we all fall down

10. A Haunting in Connecticut.

One bright day in the middle of the night,
Two dead boys got up to fight.
Back to back they faced each other,
drew their swords and shot each other.
A deaf policeman heard the noise
and ran to save the two dead boys.
And if you don’t believe it’s true,
go ask the blind man, he saw it too.

 

Leave a Reply

